Tsinghua Professor wins ION Thurlow Award-Tsinghua University News

Tsinghua Professor wins ION Thurlow Award

Tsinghua Professor wins ION Thurlow Award

Dr. Lu Mingquan, a Professor from Tsinghua’s Department of Electronic Engineering, has been awarded the Thurlow Award and elected as a Fellow from the Institute of Navigation (ION), as it was announced at the ION International Technical Meeting (ITM) on January 28.

Established in 1945, the award recognizes individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the advancement of navigation. As the ION’s oldest and most influential award, it is given to one honoree every year. Lu Mingquan is the first scientist from China to receive the prestigious Thurlow Award since ION began offering the award 76 years ago.

To date, 75 well-known experts and scholars in the field of navigation have won the award, including the GPS gurus and pioneers, Roger L. Easton (1978), Bradford W. Parkinson (1986), and Per Enge (1996) et al.

Launched in 1998, ION elects at most three Fellows each year. As the highest honor for ION members, the ION fellowship is awarded to those who have contributed to the art and science of positioning, navigation and timing. Lu is the second scholar from China to be elected as an ION Fellow.

Professor Lu is Director of the Tsinghua PNT Center and a member of the Experts Group of the BeiDou Navigation Satellite System. He has long been committed to the theoretical and practical research and development work related to satellite navigation, and has achieved a series of original results with international influence.

Editors: Li Han,John Olbrich